All the Formula One news

Raikkonen wants to be on the top step of the podium at Silverstone


By Berthold Bouman

Kimi Raikkonen wants more, and he is aiming for the top step of the podium during the British Grand Prix at Silverstone. The Finn is currently in sixth place of the Drivers’ Championship, but still 38 points behind leader Fernando Alonso. He is one of the few drivers to have finished all eight races so far this season. He also scored points in all eight races, and has scored three podium places — but he is hungry for more.

Kimi Raikkonen, Lotus

“I’ve had some good results, I want more. In the last few races the results haven’t been as strong as I’ve wanted. We’ve finished well but I’m disappointed not to have a win yet. We just have to get everything together and I’m sure it can come,” said the Lotus driver.

Raikkonen certainly loves the British track, “I’ve always enjoyed racing at Silverstone. I don’t know why; there must be this nostalgic feeling that I have every time we go there. I’ll enjoy the weekend whatever the weather will be.

We’ve seen quite a lot of different conditions there in the past, and not always good! It’s always windy at Silverstone and often it rains, too. The track conditions change very quickly, which makes the car more tricky to set up. It’s part of the fun racing in England; at least it’s the same for everybody.”

About the challenges of the circuit he said, “It’s so fast and demanding which makes it very challenging. The corners really flow and it’s all about long, sweeping high-speed corners and high downforce levels. Somehow it has been a good circuit for me since the very beginning. It will be interesting to see how the new section changes a lap, but I’m sure I’ll learn it very quickly.”

Raikkonen won the race in 2007 for Ferrari, and has been on the Silverstone podium five times, what does it mean to win the British Grand Prix? “When you win in Silverstone, it gives such a good feeling. You have to get everything exactly right. I won there in Formula Renault and then with Ferrari in 2007. It would be fantastic to win again there, especially with the factory just down the road. I’m sure we would have some fantastic celebrations!”

Leave a Reply

