All the Formula One news

Hamilton and Dennis to have ‘dinner and a good chat’ in Abu Dhabi


By Berthold Bouman

One thing was really bothering Lewis Hamilton after he had signed for Mercedes: he hadn’t spoken to his McLaren mentor Ron Dennis, he tried to contact him but the McLaren Executive Chairman didn’t return his calls.

Lewis Hamilton, McLaren

Clearly Hamilton’s decision to leave had been very disappointing for Dennis, who signed Hamilton at the age of 13, but after 14 years at McLaren the 2008 World  Champion was now looking for a new ‘challenge’ in Formula One, hence his decision to move to Mercedes.

British media have now revealed Hamilton and Dennis finally met last week when Hamilton visited the McLaren headquarters in Woking, and the two have agreed to have ‘a good chat’ in Abu Dhabi next week. “I haven’t sat down and spoken to anyone just because we’re still in the motion of the year … it’s not the end yet,” said Hamilton. “It’s important now to try and keep the motivation up high, so when I went back I did the normal things that I do.

“I spoke to Ron, and me and Ron, we’re planning to meet up I think it’s in Abu Dhabi. We’ll go for dinner, have a good chat.”

Asked about this year’s World Championship, Hamilton admitted it was now a two-horse race, as he believes Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel are the only two remaining candidates for the 2012 title.

Hamilton commented, “I’m very sad that we’ve not been able to win another World Championship … I feel that we, as a team, are good enough to have done so and I feel that I’m good enough to have done so.

“For the rest of the year now it’s just to try and help the team win the Constructors’ Championship. Realistically we are too far away, I would say, to win the drivers’. If we did through some kind of miracle, then I’ll eat my words!”

Ron Dennis, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button

Leave a Reply

