All the Formula One news

Alonso: 2012 best season of my life, with some unforgettable moments


By Berthold Bouman

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari - Photo: FerrariDuring Ferrari’s end of the season event ‘Finali Mondiali’ at the Spanish Ricardo Tormo circuit, Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso hailed the 2012 season as ‘a season with unforgettable moments’. Exactly one week after the Spaniard lost the title to Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel by only three points, Alonso finally had some time to sum-up the season.

“I am happy with the way things went,” the double-World Champion said. “In the end, we lost the title by three points, however, I did the best season of my life and now I can only think of the year to come.”

And he added, “It was a miracle to see, race after race, what we managed to achieve: we definitely did not lose the title in Brazil; that happened in Spa and Suzuka. Next year, we will try and improve the car, trying to start further up the grid, thus avoiding accidents. Let’s hope we also have a bit more luck …”

It was a perfect year in terms of strategy, pit stops, starts and reliability, and Alonso even won three Grands Prix this season, but there was only one thing lacking according to the Ferrari driver. “We all agree the one thing lacking was the car, which meant we could not match the best teams for most of the year. It’s the only thing we need to improve, but it’s also true that it’s the hardest thing to do,” he said.

Once again, Alonso was asked about the Vettel overtaking incident, Ferrari’s futile attempt to win the title behind the green table, but Alonso, just like Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo, maintained ‘the fans had been asking for an explanation’, and not Ferrari.

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari - Photo: Ferrari

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari – Photo Ferrari

“There were a lot of video clips on the Internet and we knew our fans were asking for an explanation and so it was right for Ferrari to turn to the Federation [FIA] for a clarification,” he said.

And he duly explained, “I did not pay much attention to all the uproar this incident caused, but I felt we owed our fans an answer. Frankly, I’m not that interested in what the opinion is of me in Germany or elsewhere. What I know is that people who see me in the streets hug me and call me gladiator or samurai.”

About the past season he said, “This has been a spectacular year, hard to forget, with moments that will never be repeated like the win in Valencia or in Malaysia. Ever since I’ve been at Ferrari, I think I have grown a lot, especially this last year.”

He also reckoned thta he gained a lot of respect this season, “Before, the people had a more or less good opinion of me, but now I notice a whole different level of respect. And then, to be one of the greats of Formula One, it’s not enough to win titles, you must also tackle seasons like the one just ended.”

“Next year? I hope to score three or four points more!”

Leave a Reply

