All the Formula One news

Mixed feelings for Pedro de a Rosa after Ferrari’s Jerez test


By Berthold Bouman

Mixed feelings for Pedro de a Rosa after Ferrari’s Jerez test - Photo: FerrariAfter the demise of the HRT team, Pedro de la Rosa has found a new job at the famous Scuderia Ferrari as test driver, and on Friday it was his turn to test the Ferrari F138, the Scuderia’s 2013 contender.

De la Rosa will spend most of his time in the simulator this season, but last Friday he was in the real Ferrari F138, as he needs a benchmark for his work in the simulator. Unfortunately, his day was cut short after just two laps.

There was a problem with the gearbox and de la Rosa had to park his smoking Ferrari along the track, the problem was fixed just in time for the afternoon session and he was able to complete 51 laps on the Circuito de Jerez in his native Spain.

“All in all it’s been a positive day for me, I finally got a feel for the car and that will be very important when it comes to comparing the data with the simulator as we develop the car,” de la Rosa commented after the test.

Pedro de la Rosa and Andrea Stella - Photo: Ferrari

Pedro de la Rosa and Andrea Stella – Photo: Ferrari

About his new job at Ferrari he remarked, “We are not yet where we want to be on our simulation and there will be a lot of work to do, but that’s why I’ve been taken on and in my own small way I hope to do my best to contribute to the progress of the Scuderia.”

And he added, “I had a lot of mixed feelings today: I was very excited to drive the car but when I got out after the first two laps I was not exactly happy. All my life I’ve been waiting for an opportunity like this and to see it end after just a few corners was definitely not nice, especially because I wasn’t sure that we would be able to continue with the programme.”

The next pre-season test days will be at the Spanish Circuit de Catalunya in Spain on February 19-22, but then Fernando Alonso will be at the wheel of the Ferrari F138.

One response

  1. Excellent article. Apt. Thanks

    February 11, 2013 at 12:13

Leave a Reply

